Best Superhero Books for Kids

Looking for a good book for fans of Batman, Superman, Wonder Woman, and the like? We've got you covered! From picture books for preschoolers to young adult novels for teens, the books on this list are packed with action, adventure, fantasy, and world-saving heroes. The stories focus on superheroes, kids with superpowers, and even some kids whose parents are superheroes or supervillains. For more exciting reads, check out our lists of Science Fiction Books and Fantasy Books for Kids.

The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man Poster Image
BOOK

The Astonishing Secret of Awesome Man

age 4+

Exciting look at the fun (and fatigue) of being a superhero.

By: Michael Chabon (2011)
See full review
Dylan the Villain Poster Image
BOOK

Dylan the Villain

age 4+

Clever, smart, diabolically fun story of kid supervillain.

By: K.G. Campbell (2016)
See full review
Superhero Joe and the Creature Next Door Poster Image
BOOK

Superhero Joe and the Creature Next Door

age 4+

Superhero tale offers sweet lessons about everyday fears.

See full review
The Princess in Black Poster Image
BOOK

The Princess in Black

age 5+

Fun tale of monster-fighting princess who leads double life.

By: Shannon Hale, Dean Hale (2014)
See full review
Super Fly: The World's Smallest Superhero!: Super Fly, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Super Fly: The World's Smallest Superhero!: Super Fly, Book 1

age 5+

Underdog takes on bully in light, fun chapter book.

By: Todd H. Doodler (2015)
See full review
Almost Super Poster Image
BOOK

Almost Super

age 8+

Superheroes vs. supervillains in super-funny tale.

By: Marion Jensen (2014)
See full review
Cape: The League of Secret Heroes, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Cape: The League of Secret Heroes, Book 1

age 8+

Tween superheroes battle Nazis, prejudice in exciting story.

By: Kate Hannigan (2019)
See full review
Diana and the Island of No Return: Wonder Woman Adventures, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Diana and the Island of No Return: Wonder Woman Adventures, Book 1

age 8+

Charm, action as future superhero fights to save her home.

By: Aisha Saeed (2020)
See full review
Diana: Princess of the Amazons Poster Image
BOOK

Diana: Princess of the Amazons

age 8+

Vibrant, gentle origin story shows Wonder Woman as tween.

By: Shannon Hale, Dean Hale (2020)
See full review
Ferals Poster Image
BOOK

Ferals

age 8+

Dark fantasy has chills, thrills, fresh take on superhero.

By: Jacob Grey (2015)
See full review
Minion Poster Image
BOOK

Minion

age 8+

Terrific page-turner has it all: action, humor, and heart.

By: John David Anderson (2014)
See full review
Going Wild, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Going Wild, Book 1

age 9+

Superpowered series start has thrills, appealing characters.

By: Lisa McMann (2016)
See full review
Joshua Dread Poster Image
BOOK

Joshua Dread

age 9+

Hilarious saga of middle-schooler with supervillain parents.

By: Lee Bacon (2012)
See full review
Katie the Catsitter: Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Katie the Catsitter: Book 1

age 9+

Funny, colorful graphic novel about tween superhero-to-be.

By: Colleen AF Venable (2021)
See full review
The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

The Lightning Thief: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 1

age 9+

Greek myths meet fast-paced adventure in boy-demigod tale.

By: Rick Riordan (2005)
See full review
Book cover Map of Flames with five superhero kids
BOOK

Map of Flames: The Forgotten Five, Book 1

age 9+

Superpowers, misfit power in complex, exciting series start.

By: Lisa McMann (2022)
See full review
Shuri: A Black Panther Novel, Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Shuri: A Black Panther Novel, Book 1

age 9+

Bold princess shines in African superhero adventure.

By: Nic Stone (2020)
See full review
Sidekicked Poster Image
BOOK

Sidekicked

age 9+

Smart coming-of-age tale costumed as superhero adventure.

By: John David Anderson (2013)
See full review
The Vanished: Shuri, A Black Panther Novel, Book 2 Poster Image
BOOK

The Vanished: Shuri, A Black Panther Novel, Book 2

age 9+

African princess on engaging quest to rescue girl prodigies.

By: Nic Stone (2021)
See full review
Virals: Book 1 Poster Image
BOOK

Virals: Book 1

age 9+

Exciting story of murder-solving heroine with superpowers.

By: Kathy Reichs (2010)
See full review